GCFF - Bringing Films To Life - April 20 - May 1 2022 GCFF - Bringing Films To Life - April 20 - May 1 2022


SIPFest: Short Film Festival


SIPFest, otherwise known as the Shorts in Paradise Festival, is the annual short film festival with $8000 in cash prizes and an unbeatable beach cinema location (sorry, BYO beach sand for 2020)! 

This year, we’re shaking things up and taking SIPFest online! 13 finalist short films from Australia and around the world will screen online for the first time ever. SIPFest films will be available online from midday Thursday 9 April to midday Tuesday 14 April.

From drama to comedy (and everything in-between) these short films will have you laughing, crying and most importantly, escaping.

Viewers can cast their votes online for the highly-coveted People’s Choice Award and the winner will receive $1,000 cash. 

Films will be judged by a panel of industry experts and awarded $8,000 in prizes, thanks to Surfers Paradise Alliance, at the live-streamed Screen Industry Gala Awards on Thursday 16 April, 6.30pm. 

So dress up in your best pyjamas (or the same ones you’ve been wearing for the last two weeks – no judgement), stock up on snacks and watch some fresh short films while supporting Aussie filmmakers.

SIPFEST Prize Categories:

  • Best Australian Film: $3000

  • Runner up Best Australian Film: $1000

  • Best International Film: $500

  • People’s Choice (voted for by the audience): $1000

  • Best Film by a Gold Coast resident: $1000

  • Best Screenplay: $1000

  • Best Actor (male or female): $500

Presented by

People’s Choice Award

Have your say in who wins the People’s Choice Award for SIPFest 2020!

Voting for the People’s Choice Award will open at midday on Thursday 9th April and close at midday on Tuesday 14th April.

Voting is simple! Watch all 13 SIPFest finalists online then fill out the form below with your vote. You can vote for more than one film, but you can only vote once so make it count!

The film who receives the most votes will be awarded the People’s Choice Award during the live streamed Screen Industry Gala Awards on Thursday 16 April, 6.30pm. Register now for the Screen Industry Gala Awards here.



  • Date Night – Marni Little, Christine Milo

  • Eye for an Eye – Elizabeth Cullen 

  • I Don’t Speak – Tess Emmerson 

  • Lost Daylight – Nurdewi Djamal, Callan Murray

  • MANUS – Angus McDonald

  • My Name is Mudju – Chantelle Murray

  • Desert Island Secret Santa – Pearce Hoskinson

  • Phone It In – Darien Law

  • The Bus to Birra Birra – TJ Power

  • The Perfect Spread – Billy Milionis

  • The Starey Bampire  – Dan Farmer, Adam Bigum

  • Yulubidyi – Until The End – Nathan Mewett, Curtis Taylor

  • Back to Graceland – Sakari Sankkinen


Sign up to our e-newsletter to stay up-to-date with the Gold Coast Film Festival.

Thank you for subscribing to Gold Coast Film Festival Cinefile e-news!