GCFF - Bringing films to life - 14-25 April 2021 GCFF - Bringing films to life - 14-25 April 2021

Short film finalists and winners from SIPFest 2018

The Gold Coast Film Festival awarded $8000 in cash prizes for its national short film competition SIPFEST: Shorts in Paradise, presented by Surfers Paradise Alliance on Sunday 22 April on Surfers Paradise Beach.

Judges for these eight awards included Anthony Kierann – Event Cinemas, Michael Sergi – Bond University, Diya Eid – Screen Queensland and Heather Maltman – filmmaker and radio host.

iRONY, by Perth’s Radheya Jegatheva took out the top prize of Best Film, winning $3000, with Brisbane’s Krystle Wright taking the $1000 Runner Up Best Film prize for A RESTLESS PEACE.

See the full list of finalists and winners below: 


A Restless Peace: Krystle Wright
Boneslayer: Oliver Ramsay
Hello: Arwin Arwin
iRony: Radheya Jegatheva
Mrs. S.: James R. Woods
Please Do Not Feed The Ducks: Tim Goodwin & Pearce Hoskinson
Skin Like Bark: Declan Caruso
Sorry, Thanks, I Love You: Kyra Bartley
Su Brown and the Wallace Rockhole Pottery: Colin Usher
Super Nice: Jack Yabsley
Surren: Alisha Marfatia
The Skydiver & The Scarecrow: Ren Thackham


Best Film: Radheya Jegatheva, iRony
Runner Up Best Film: Krystle Wright, A Restless Peace
People’s Choice Award: Tim Goodwin & Pearce Hoskinson, Please Do Not Feed The Ducks
Best Film Showcasing Surfers Paradise: Arwin Arwin, Hello
Best Film by a Gold Coast resident: Colin Usher, Su Brown and the Wallace Rockhole Pottery
Best Screenplay: Jack Yabsley, Super Nice
Best Actress: Fiona Pearson, Super Nice
Best Actor: Jake Harrison, Skin Like Bark


Sign up to our e-newsletter to stay up-to-date with the Gold Coast Film Festival.

Your ticket will be emailed after the program announcement on March 10.

Share This

Share this post with your friends!