GCFF - Bringing films to life - 17-29 April 2018 GCFF - Bringing films to life - 17-29 April 2018


Awarding Australian Talent – Our Awards

We’re proud to support emerging Australian filmmakers from our university showcase EMERGE to our national short film competition SIPFEST, up to our Australian Independent Film strand. This year, thanks to the generosity of our partners, we have some fantastic new prizes and awards for filmmakers.

Blackmagic Design Best Independent Australian Film

Four independent Australian feature films will compete for this incredible prize in 2018 –  $10,000 worth of Blackmagic Designs products including a URSA Mini 4.6K EF lightweight digital film camera and accessories including viewfinder, battery plate, mic mount and shoulder kit.

PULSE, ZELOS, THE PRETEND ONE and STRANGE COLOURS will be judged by a jury comprised of film critics from the Australian Film Critics Association.


Best Independent Australian Film – Peer Award

This award features $500 cash prize, thanks to The Green Room app plus a Blackmagic Design DaVinci Resolve 14 Studio (non-linear editing system) – valued at $419.

This award will be judged by the Green Room’s Kosta Nikas, director of 2016 GCFF screened film CRUSHED and WIFT NSW President, Megan Riakos and two past GCFF screened film directors.

The winners of both these awards will be announced at Opening Night.


EMERGE! QLD Short film showcase

The best film in our university showcase EMERGE will be awarded a $250 cash prize, thanks to GCFF. This category is judged by Samantha Laidlaw, VP of Content at Screen Queensland and Rich Haridy, Programmer at GCFF.


SIPFest: Shorts on Surfers Paradise Beach

$8000 cash prizes in 8 categories, thanks to Surfers Paradise Alliance.

The 2018 SIPFest jury includes Anthony Kierann (Event Cinemas General Manager – Film festivals, Australian Cinema, Programs), Heather Maltman (SeaFM presenter, filmmaker and actress), Diya Eid (VP of Content – Screen Queensland) and Dr Michael Sergi (Head of Film and Television – Bond University).


Stay up to date with the Gold Coast Film Festival.

You have Successfully Subscribed!