GCFF - Bringing Films To Life - April 20 - May 1 2022 GCFF - Bringing Films To Life - April 20 - May 1 2022


Awarding Australian Film & TV Talent

Gold Coast Film Festival is proud to support Queensland and Australian filmmakers, writers and creators through a series of awards and prizes.

Best Australian Independent Film Award
$5,000 cash prize sponsored by Dendy Cinema and judged by Rich Hardy, Sarah Ward (Screen International), Alexandra Heller (PHD/Senses of Cinema), and Nicholas Zak Hepburn (ABC News Breakfast).

PKF Best Australian Film Award
Judged by Gold Coast Film Festival Program Manager Sasha Close.


Queensland Screenwriting Award
$5,000 cash for 1st place, $500 cash for 2nd and 3rd place, with thanks to The Heaton Group. Judged by Sebastian Chan, Rowena Billiard, Sanja Simic and Shirley Pierce.


SIPFEST (Shorts in Paradise)
$5,000 cash across 7 categories judged by Eamon Farren (AACTA Award winning actor), Chris Brown (Paradise Pictures), Mandy Lake (Flick Chicks), Lucy Markovich, Gabrielle Rogers.

The SIPFEST award categories presented on the night are:

  • Best Australian Short Film
  • Runner-up Best Australian Short film
  • Best International Short Film
  • People’s Choice Award short Film
  • Best Short Film by a Gold Coast Resident
  • Best Screenplay
  • Best Actor

Web Series
Best Australian Webseries ($500), Best International Webseries
Judged by Leanne Tonkes (producer), Matthew Eeles (Cinema Australia), and Hayley Adams.


EMERGE! Student Short Films
A DaVinci Resolve Studios Suite presented by Blackmagic Design, and $500 cash presented by FOTA (Friends of the Arts) is awarded to Best Student Short Film Award, Best Cinematography, Best Screenplay Award. Judged by GCFF Program Manager Sasha Close and a Screen Queensland representative, Danielle Andrews.


The Chauvel Award
The Chauvel Award committee features six of Australia’s most respected screen industry members: Jan Chapman, producer of the AFI Best Film winner Lantana and Academy Award winner The Piano and 2002 Chauvel Award recipient, Melanie Coombs, producer of The Academy Award winner Harvie Krumpet and film industry veteran, actor and producer Alan Finney, major festival sponsor Screen Queensland CEO, Kylie Munnich, Professor Emeritus Bruce Molloy and screen distribution heavyweight Michael Selwyn.


Queensland Screen Business of the Year
Judged by Jo Dillon (Screen Queensland), Lynne Benzie (Village Roadshow Studios) and Matt Deaner (Screen Producers Australia), the winner is awarded with a Gold Class experience thanks to Event Cinemas.
Gold Coast Screen Professional of the Year
Judged by Gina Black (Screen Queensland) and Laura Clelland (Essential Crew), the winner will recieve a Gold Class experience thanks to Event Cinemas.


Sign up to our e-newsletter to stay up-to-date with the Gold Coast Film Festival.

Thank you for subscribing to Gold Coast Film Festival Cinefile e-news!