SIPFest 2017: Two nights of short films on Surfers Paradise beach, 23rd – 24th April 2017

SIPFest transforms Surfers Paradise beach into a vibrant and unique cinema, with an outdoor film experience like no other!

Feel the sand between your toes and embrace the ocean air as you enjoy 12 short films on one of Australia’s most iconic beaches.

With most professional filmmakers beginning their career on the set of a short film, SIPFest provides an opportunity to identify and reward talented emerging filmmakers.

Finalists compete for $8,000 in cash prizes and you can cast your vote on the night for the People’s Choice Award.

The 2017 SIPFest jury includes Thomas Grimshaw, international programmer for the London Short Film Festival, Kasie Moore, VP at Screen Queensland, Sophie Mathisen President of WIFT NSW and Festival Director of For Film’s Sake Film Festival and Nadine Bates, creative director at Like A Photon Creative.

2017 Categories and prizes:

  • Best Film: $3000
  • Runner up Best Film: $1000
  • People’s Choice: $1000
  • Best Film by a Gold Coast resident: $500
  • Best film showcasing Surfers Paradise $500
  • Best Screenplay: $1000
  • Best Actor: $500
  • Best Actress: $500
  • Best Cinematography – 12 month membership to Australian Cinematographer’s Society


DRUMROLL PLEASE… The 2017 SIPFest finalists are:

  • Bunny New Girl
  • Dress In Black
  • Dunes
  • Grounded
  • In Life Today
  • Red Horizon
  • Sengatan
  • Surfers Paradise: Sunrise to Sunset
  • The Spa
  • überRICH
  • Walter

And screening out-of-competition is Stripped.

Sunday 23rd April 2017 | 7pm-9.30pm:

The 12 short films screen on the sands of the iconic Surfers Paradise beach. Arrive early and grab a beanbag (or BYO picnic blanket) chill out and enjoy some of the best new Australian short films and vote for your favourite.


Monday 24th April 2017 | 7pm-8.30pm:

“Now! That’s What I Call Short Film!” – The best of the 2016 London Short Film Festival screening in Australia for the first time! Expect cats, drag, bad dates and radio phone-ins across the 90 minute program.

Restricted to 15+ audiences.